RockAuto.com Good Buying Experience Not For Returns

Rock Auto Personal Review. All The Parts Your Car Will Ever Need. Great buying experience, easy system to locate and purchase auto parts. However the system is challenging for returns.

RockAuto ReviewI have an older Chrysler car – not yet an antique but for sure a collectible. It’s old enough that finding some replacement parts can be challenging. Last summer i stumbled upon RockAuto.com and since then have ordered many parts. The price can’t be beat and up until last week i had nothing but praise for the business.

An Air Conditioning low side pressure cut out switch i had purchased from RockAuto.com had developed a refrigerant leak.  It was still under warranty, so i started a return / replacement.

The RockAuto.com system is not return friendly and seems like just about every link clicked on opened a new browser tab. Had to look up the item number, copy paste in the return authorization page. Jump through hoop after hoop until finally i was presented with the RMA and shipping label to return the part. Mailed the item off via the postal service and waited.

About 2 weeks later i received a big box from RockAuto.com. I’m puzzled, what is this. Opening the box i see a refrigerant hose for what looked like a Ford. I snapped two photos of the box and contents and sent an email to support with explication of what was wrong with the order. Got a reply back later that day saying to use the return process on their website.

RockAuto.com Wrong Part Received
Wrong classic car part purchased from rockauto.com customer service debacle nightmare

Locating the order was easy enough, but there was no place on the page to initiate another return, or to contact support advising of their error sending the wrong part. I gave up, emailed support back explaining the problem with initiating the return process. At that time i went on RockAuto.com’s review site customerlobby.com and left a truthful 2 star review explaining the frustrating error and difficult return process.

CustomerLobby.com Review Removal Request
Review removal request from customerlobby.com initiated by rockauto.com

The review i left was never published by customerlobby.com, i looked for it for several days and never found my review. Now here is the pisser, yesterday i received an email from RockAuto.com with a return shipping label.

Today i receive an email from customerlobby.com saying RockAuto is requesting the review i left be removed since a resolution was reached. First off i was requested to take the wrong part to FedEx to ship it back to them. They are holding my needed part hostage until the wrong part is returned, then they will send out the correct part.

CustomerLobby.com is allegedly running a padded review system. It’s my opinion if a customer leaves a low star negative review, customer lobby holds that review and sends notification to their client. Makes sense since i was unable to find the two star review left for rock auto. Also from what i can see, customer lobby does not offer the ability to sort by the number of stars given a business.

From what i have Googled up there are quite a few unhappy rock auto car parts buyers. Most rock auto negative reviews have to do with wrong part and returns. Examples are here here and here. I’m not planning on purchasing from rock auto again, but if i do, it will be knowing if it’s wrong or defective I’m stuck with it. Can you imaging being out of the USA and having a long distance debacle like this?

If i were rockauto’s cs manager, I would have send out the correct part via next day air with an apology, and include a return label for the wrong part. I have no problem driving it to our local FedEx location about 7 miles away. That’s what I would have done under the circumstances. This is not good business!

Just my two cents worth as usual 🙂

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
22 Comments
Most Voted
Newest Oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Ed Koon
Ed Koon
August 6, 2018 7:26 PM

My latest Rock Auto order. No worries the right part at a great price!

Disappointed
Disappointed
June 28, 2018 12:03 PM

I ordered shocks for my bronco they did not fit so I sent them back never installed, tried to call customer service but they suck was told to go online to check on the status of my order. I paid for my order right then but trying to get my money back is getting hard. I had to get new ones here where I live and they cost way more than I paid for with them but if they don’t fit I can bring them back and get my money back now. Having a company that you cannot talk to… Read more »

Warren Wright
Warren Wright
February 23, 2018 4:43 PM

So many negative remarks. Now I wonder just why I have ordered parts before. HO YES I HAVE A COMPLAINT ALSO. I had ordered a air filter and it arrived like the other parts I had ordered before. A weak or two later I received another air filer just lime the first one, I contacted Rock Auto by email and ordered a return label. They put my money back into my bank account like I asked and things were good with my new air filter in my car. Around a month passed and I be darn a 3rd air filter… Read more »

Screw RockAuto
Screw RockAuto
February 14, 2018 7:46 AM

Boycott RockAuto and any company that doesn’t allow you to speak to someone in regards to customer service!!!

Harry Edmunds
Harry Edmunds
December 29, 2017 2:02 PM

Correction to my previous comment: The lamps were purchased in December 2016 and installed in January 2017 and were still under Dorman’s warranty.

Harry Edmunds
Harry Edmunds
December 29, 2017 1:57 PM

My wife drives a 2005 Nissan Pathfinder. In Dec. 2015 I ordered two Dorman Fog/Driving lamps for the pathfinder from RockAuto. The lamps were installed in Jan. 2016 by our independent mechanic and fit perfectly. In mid-2016, the lamps showed evidence of condensation inside of the lamp housings. When I contacted RockAuto by phone, I found the person who answered to be very rude and she hung up on me when I asked her how to get replacement lamps. I called again and was told that all returns had to be done on line. That was not a simple process.… Read more »

Doc
Doc
August 10, 2017 10:59 AM

Since publishing this review I’ve purchased a lot of parts from Rock Auto without a hitch or glitch. Don’t know if they have improved their return process, only made this single return.

I believe lots of reviewers complaints mentioned depend on what vehicle you’re buying parts for. Classic and Vintage automobile parts are usually new old stock (NOS) where late model vehicle parts may be imported from Asia or elsewhere.

Oswald Jayatunge
Oswald Jayatunge
June 16, 2017 8:31 AM

It’s being a terrible experience with the purchase of Monroe Struts from RockAuto. First there were wrong miss-matching parts in the boxes. Once informed, they quickly sent the correct parts. Then, the left side Strut assembly that came with the original Order was a defective and RockAuto has graciously sent a refund/replacement. Again, shortly after installing the replacement part, I found out that the Strut mount that came with the assembly is defective. It started giving a noise every time the wheel is turned either way. I took the car to the mechanic and confirmed it was the bad strut… Read more »

STEPHANIE
STEPHANIE
June 1, 2017 11:14 AM

WILL NEVER ORDER FROM THEM AGAIN.ORDER AN AC COMPRESSOR FROM THEM, INSTALLED IT , IT WAS DEFECTIVE. HAD TO REORDER NEW PART. GETTING MY MONEY BACK ON THE 1ST ONE HAS BEEN A ROYAL PAIN. THEIR RETURN INSTRUCTIONS ARE RIDICULOUSLY COMPLICATED. CANT GET ANYONE TO RETURN MY EMAIL OR PHONE CALL…SO DONE. IT SHOULDN’T BE SO COMPLICATED TO PRINT A RETURN LABEL…GOOD GRIEF !!!!!!!!!!

Patsy L Watson
Patsy L Watson
May 31, 2017 9:19 PM

tried to get a return for a window motor that was purchased last October 2016, supposed to have a lifetime warranty. went on line to do the return only when i entered the part no. it said no longer covered, how so??? made an effort to call customer service waste of time, so i guess i am out 70 bucks!! no more deals with RA for me Disappointed in WV take your business where you are appreciated

Michael
Michael
April 12, 2017 11:13 AM

RockAuto.com company is fraud. Sent me the wrong parts and claim I have to pay restocking and reshipping and still they tell me they won’t give me any refund. Complete fraud! Checked the compatibility of my vehicle with parts even and they still sent the wrong parts claiming it was my mistake for ordering them even though the site said they were compatible. They are trying to claim I do not want the parts as the reason for a return but this is also fraud as they sent me the absolute wrong parts to fit my vehicle. Of course I… Read more »

Imis
Imis
January 11, 2017 2:36 AM

I bought a DEA/MARMON RIDE CONTROL transmission mount: http://www.rockauto.com/en/moreinfo.php?pk=3460176&cc=1378795&jsn=10 The picture displayed on rockauto website clearly displayed high quality part with corresponding $43 price. I was shipped $5 mount sourced on Alibaba: https://www.alibaba.com/trade/search?fsb=y&IndexArea=product_en&CatId=&SearchText=41022-ac180

When I protested that what is being shipped is not what is being displayed was told that they have the rights to change parts as they see fit.
The so called CS labeled this as “part not wanted” and refused to pay for shipping back the junk part they shipped.
My request to speak to CS manager, was not answered and CS stopped dealing with my emails.

Connie
Connie
October 18, 2016 12:17 AM

I bought a gates timing belt kit went to install it tensioner case cracked so i went to summit racing to buy a continental timing kit just for the tensioner because i couldn’t wait for the long return.sense the other parts were already installed i just installed the other tensioner started the car and the idler bearing was real noisy.so u pulled out all the gates parts and installed the far better continental parts.

Sam Jacobson
Sam Jacobson
August 20, 2016 9:38 PM

Rock Auto has their reviews manipulated by customer lobby, but if you search using keywords like returns and customer service, many small blogs like this one reveal a lot.